Partnership for a better future

About Interreg V-A RO-HU

The Interreg V-A Romania-Hungary Programme to be implemented during the programming period of 2014-2020, continues the funding of the cross-border cooperation within the Romanian –Hungarian border area, by means of the European Regional Development Fund with the support of the European Union and the governments of the two States.

The general goal of the Programme

The goal is to keep consolidating the cross-border partnerships, so as to facilitate the cooperation-based, harmonious integrated development of the border area.

Programme Budget (2014-2020)

EUR 231.861.763 total budget, respectively EUR 189.138.672 from the European Regional Development Fund, of which: for the projects: EUR 209.165.123 total budget, respectively EUR 177.790.352 from the European Regional Development Fund.

Priority Axis 1

Joint protection and efficient use of common values and resources (Cooperation in the field of common values and resources)

Total budget: 48.502.844 Euro

Priority Axis 2

Improvement of enduring cross-border mobility and removal of blockages (Cooperation in the field of accessibility)

Total budget: 34.995.589 Euro

Priority Axis 3

Improvement of employment level and promotion of cross-border employment mobility (Cooperation in the field of employment)

Total budget: 55.070.771 Euro

Priority Axis 4

Improvement of health care services (Cooperation in the field of health and prevention of diseases)

Total budget: 57.034.498 Euro

Priority Axis 5

Improvement of risk prevention and disaster management (Cooperation in the field of risk prevention and disaster management)

Total budget: 9.548.042 Euro

Priority Axis 6

Promotion of cross-border cooperation between institutions and citizens (Cooperation between institutions and communities)

Total budget: 4.013.379 Euro

Eligible area


4 counties






4 counties

Satu Mare




Eligible beneficiaries

  • Local and county authorities and institutions thereof.
  • National ministries and specialized institutions thereof, regional offices thereof.
  • National/natural park administrations.
  • Environmental protection institutions.
  • Higher education institutions
  • Non-government organizations.
  • Micro-regional associations.
  • Euro-regions management organizations
  • Museums, libraries and theaters.
  • Churches
  • Cultural patrimony offices.
  • Chamber of Trade
  • European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (GECT).
  • National organizations in charge with transport infrastructure development.

Further details on this programme are available on the official site: